The PCNSE (Palo Alto Networks Certified Network Security Engineer) certification validates the knowledge and skills required for network security engineers that design, deploy, operate, manage, and troubleshoot Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls. PCNSE-certified individuals have demonstrated in-depth knowledge of the Palo Alto Networks product portfolio and can make full use of it in the vast majority of implementations.

Palo Alto Networks technology is highly integrated and automated. The Palo Alto Networks product portfolio comprises multiple separate technologies working in unison to prevent successful cyberattacks. The PCNSE validates that engineers can correctly deploy Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewalls while leveraging the rest of the platform


Palo Alto Networks recommends advanced knowledge of networking and cybersecurity and extensive experience working with Palo Alto security products, including PAN-OS software, Panorama, and GlobalProtect.

Target audience

  • Network Security Engineer
  • Network Engineer
  • Network Architect
  • Security Consultant, (Computing / Networking / Information Technology)
  • Senior Security Consultant
  • Security Engineer
  • Sr. Network Engineer

Learning Objectives

On course completion, you will be able to answer the following -

  • Learn how to configure and manage the next-generation Panorama management server
  • Gain experience configuring templates (including template variables) and device groups
  • Gain experience with administration, log collection, and logging and reporting
  • Become familiar with planning and design considerations for Panorama deployment


  • Is it mandatory to do PCNSA before PCNSE? ?

    The PCCSA and PCNSA are not specified as a prerequisite for the PCNSE, but they are recommended by Palo Alto Networks.

  • What are the recertification requirements ?

    One has to retake the PCNSE exam for recertification

  • What happens if I don't pass the exam ?

    You will receive a score report suggesting the domain areas you need to focus

  • Can I retake the exam if I fail in the first attempt ?

    Palo Alto Networks requires the candidate to wait for 5 business days after the first attempt. In case of failing in a second attempt the candidate must wait for 15 business days before the retake. Failing the third attempt the candidate has to contact certification@paloaltonetworks.com before making any additional attempts.

Enroll the course

Popular Courses

Web Application Testing

Web Application Penetration Testing training (WAPT)…

Bug Bounty Hunting

Bug Bounty hunting is emerging rapidly these days.…

Red Team Course

With the growing threats in cyberspace, it is not…


The PCNSE (Palo Alto Networks Certified Network Security…


The PCNSA (Palo Alto Networks Certified Network Security…

Prince 2 Practitioner

The people managing the projects can upskill using…

Have a Question ?

For Courses Content Enroll Now